National Honor Society inducts new members


Abigail Rose

The senior officers of NHS--president Rami Bikdash, vice president Emma Fagerberg, secretary Miranda Rose and historian Madison Ayres--inducted new members for the spring semester on March 24.

On March 24, students, parents and teachers gathered in the Northwest media center to honor and celebrate 10 individuals’ induction into the school’s chapter of the National Honor Society (NHS).

National Honor Society is the nation’s oldest, largest and most prestigious student-based organization, and the requirements to be a member of the society are to uphold the four pillars: Character, Service, Leadership and Scholarship.

To meet the requirement of character, teachers are asked if a student has ever been caught cheating or showing other signs of inappropriate character. To meet the requirement of service, students are asked to describe their community involvement in their applications, and must additionally do 25 hours of service throughout the school year. To meet the requirement of leadership, students are also asked to describe their roles as leaders in their lives and around school in their application, as well. Finally, to meet the requirement of scholarship, students must have an unweighted 3.8 and weighted 4.2 grade point average.

“(I wanted to join NHS because) it’s a great community and (it gave me) an opportunity to be a part of a group that impacts the school in such a great way,” junior Robbie Boulton said.

The inducted students were as follows:

Hannah Baker

Robbie Boulton

Abhyuday Gandikota

Hamza Jahangir

Wenyue Jia

Hua Jiang

Valerie Orozco

Greg Potter

Oscar Valadez

Mary Yin

The induction consisted of the senior officers–president Rami Bikdash, vice president Emma Fagerberg, secretary Miranda Rose and historian Madison Ayres–describing the four pillars and their relevance to the organization, a candle lighting for the new inductees to represent the beginning of their membership and the recitation of the National Honor Society pledge.